Educational Technology and my Father

Today was my Comprehensive Exam. I was ready but still I was nervous. The place for my exam was reserved and I arrived on time to check on my presentation and to make sure all technical details were ready for when my professors arrived. I had a committee of three doctors and I had classes with all these professors. Each one inspires me for their tenacity and firm commitment to the educational and technology fields. My  professors have been inspiring to me and their example and teaching has renewed my belief in the value of  education.
 
This morning as I got up and started getting ready to be on time, my dad was in my mind the minute I woke up. Today I was presenting my exam to get my degree. I was fifteen when my father presented his thesis to get his degree. My father is a mechanical engineer. I remember him being so touched by having his family with him as  my mom, siblings,  and I were with him in his exam. I remembered the presentation so clearly. His project was outstanding. My father was always known as a knowledgeable, reliable, and professional individual.
 
Today I thought about him and made sure to look professional as if he would see me this morning. My father is one of the most influential people in my life. My presentation went well.  I used a program that was new to me but I really mastered it in weeks!. When I was finished and after some conversation, the committee congratulated me and we all left. As I was preparing to leave the room, I thought again of my father thinking of how much I admire him and he is in my thoughts at all times. I love my father for many reasons but also because he has been an important example to me.  You can see him in the picture with my Mom. Finally I can be proud that I passed my comprehensive exam. I will be graduating in less than two weeks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Educational Technology and my Father

  1. Sandra says:

    This is what one, as a parent, looks forward to in life. To sit back and look how your kids are doing and at the end of the day being able to say “God, the job you gave me it’s done and I am very proud of how my child has grown to be an amazing person” I believe your dad can say that! All the prayers, the sleepless nights, the worries, the tears and the time they have spent with you are so worth it! Looking forward to read my kid’s own blog in the future! My dear friend, I’m so very proud of you!

  2. Ruben says:

    Mom, Dad and all of us are very Proud of you. You have come a long way, your PHd is waiting for you right Dr?
    I wish I could have been there in person with you.
    To your Professors many, many thanks for their knowledge and support.
    Remember!
    “Education is not the filling of a vessel, but the lighting of a flame” Socrates.

Leave a Reply

